Burnley sign Shackell


It has been confirmed, Jason Shackell has officially joined Burnley on a four-year deal for an undisclosed fee. The undisclosed fee is rumoured to be around £1.1million. Going by the rumoured fee, Derby have made around a £350k on the 28 year old.

 

Nigel Clough’s comments on the deal- “Jason has always been 100 per cent professional and a fantastic player to work with.  He played in every minute of every game last season, so it came to no great shock when other clubs registered their interest in him. Although I am sad to see Jason leave, we have Jake Buxton, Tom Naylor and Mark O’Brien, who have all proved to be more than capable at performing in the npower Championship. We are also actively looking to bring in another central defender, and hope to make an announcement in the not too distant future. I am sure that I speak for everybody at the Club when I wish Jason the very best for his future career at Burnley – just as long as they finish below us in the table!”

Current Rams CEO Tom Glick on the deal-  “It has been no secret that there had been a lot of interest in Jason, and that came as no great surprise as he played an important role in the team for us last season. Naturally we are disappointed to see Jason leave the Club, however plans are well underway to not only secure the services of a central defender, but also strengthen other areas of the first-team playing squad.”

Jason Shackell on his move- “I knew Derby were quite keen to get some money in so I thought it could be a possibility. I had a great year there last year and I got on really well with the lads. It’s a fantastic club and I really did enjoy my time. But if the club wanted to cash in, as they say, it left me in a difficult position. I’m not going to hang about somewhere where you’re not sure where you stand. Once I met the gaffer (Eddie Howe) and his team, I was very impressed and I was really looking forward to coming down. The last four or five years have been crazy and I’m looking forward to getting settled somewhere. The last four or five years have been crazy and I’m looking forward to getting settled somewhere. Hopefully I’ll be here for a few years to come.”

Burnley manager Eddie Howe’s reaction-  “It is a long contract, but that’s the faith we have in him. He is someone we have admired for a long time. He’s an excellent player, a very good footballer who will definitely fit into our style of play. Also off the pitch he is a leader and a really good character and someone we are really pleased to add to what we’ve got. He has everything you want in a modern centre-half and I think he will add a lot to us, hopefully for a period of time. Adding another leader into the pack was crucial for us and I think we’ve done that now.”

My Views-

Players come and players go but this will be a huge loss. The rumoured fee £1.1million should no way be enough, that will mean it’ll only be a 350k profit. Will that be enough to get a good enough replacement for him and a quality striker? No it won’t, the club must invest to replace him and Steve Davies, as we won’t get much for Davies heading into the final year of his contract. If the fee had been £2million or in that region I’d be fine with it but really £1.1million, that’s shocking. Since Nigel Clough’s arrived we’ve sold Rob Hulse, Kris Commons (he rejected a new contract, but we still couldn’t persuade him) now probably Shackell, they’re arguably three of our best players over the past few years(I understand it’s not all down to Clough). Despite Shackell I’m confident we can build on last season and do better. I’m going to move on and reserve my judgement until we sign more players and a ball is kicked, because after all we haven’t kicked a pre-season ball yet so don’t judge already.

Thanks for your efforts Jason, all the best (except against Derby).

This entry was posted in Features. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Burnley sign Shackell

  1. Pingback: Luke Chambers to snub Ipswich and join Derby? « NathanMorley.co.uk

Leave a Reply

